FCC Phi Theta Kappa President and Advisor to be Recognized at National Honors Society Convention


The Frederick Community College Phi Theta Kappa Chapter President and Faculty Advisor will be recognized at the honor society annual convention in Nashville, Tennessee from April 6 to April 8.

Gloria George, the president of the Alpha Delta Sigma Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa at FCC, has been named a 2017 Coca-Cola Community College Academic Team Gold Scholar. George is one of only 50 Coca-Cola Gold Scholars this year from across the country, and was chosen from 1,800 nominees. As a Gold Scholar, George will receive a $1,500 scholarship from the Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation and a special medallion at the convention.

Dr. Ken Kerr, FCC chapter advisor, was named a 2017 Distinguished Advisor Award winner. Dr. Kerr is one of 15 advisors to be chosen for this national award. The award recognizes chapter advisors who have made significant contributions to the growth of the individual chapter members, served as the chapter’s advocate on campus, and encouraged the chapter to be involved on the local, regional, and/or international level of the organization.

Dr. Kerr has served as chapter advisor since 2007 and, along with Director of Student Engagement Jeanni Winston-Muir, has been instrumental in growing it into the vibrant, award-winning chapter it is today.

The national recognition comes after the chapter won numerous awards at the Regional Phi Theta Kappa International Honors Association Recognition and Awards ceremony, held in Long Branch, New Jersey on March 18. During the ceremony, the FCC chapter was named the Most Distinguished Chapter, which is the top award given yearly. FCC also earned a Five Star Designation and was named fourth in the region for College Project and third for Honors in Action.

Phi Theta Kappa is the premier honor society recognizing the academic achievement of community college students. The society is made up of more than 3.2 million members in nearly 1,300 chapters in nine nations.

The Alpha Delta Sigma Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa at FCC was chartered in 1979. It currently has 229 members. To be eligible to join, students must have a 3.7 GPA after completing 13 credits.

For more information about Phi Theta Kappa at FCC, contact Dr. Ken Kerr at 301.846.2646.