FCC 2015 Hall of Fame Class


Frederick Community College held its 2015 Hall of Fame ceremony at 6 p.m. on Friday, May 1 in the Cougar Grille.

The Hall of Fame recognizes past athletes, coaches, and fans who have brought distinction to FCC through their accomplishments in athletics and their contributions to their community and society.

During the ceremony, five former athletes, two coaches, and one supporter were inducted into the second class of the FCC Hall of Fame.

“These inductees have each given so much to FCC athletics and have helped our programs get to where they are today,” said Rodney Bennett, Director of Athletics and Head Baseball Coach. “We are thrilled to be able to thank them for their contributions and recognize them as the role models they are to all our athletes and coaches.”

The 2015 Hall of Fame inductees are:

Brenton Ayer, Track and Field

Tony Checchia, Soccer

Jennifer Rasberry Mathis, Women’s Basketball

Jack Mehl, Women’s Basketball Coach

Lynn Ramage, Men’s Basketball

Sandy Smith, Athletics Supporter

Dan Taylor, Baseball Coach

Carl Wastler, Baseball

The ceremony included dinner and remarks from President Elizabeth Burmaster and Rodney Bennett. The event was open to the public.

FCC inducted its inaugural Hall of Fame class last year with eight honorees.

The FCC intercollegiate athletics program began in 1958 when a group of part-time students formed the men’s basketball team. FCC now offers basketball, baseball, and soccer for men and basketball, softball, soccer, and volleyball for women. Men’s and women’s lacrosse teams will be added in 2016.